Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

North Country Library System Virtual Branch: Classes and Resources

A guide to free activities and learning resources offered by the North Country Library System.

Classes and Resources

Genealogy and Local History

Ancestry: Uncover your heritage with billions of records in census data, vital records, directories, photos, and more. Available in your library.

Flower Memorial Library Genealogy Department

Fold3: Provides access to US military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served. Contains millions of records from world-class archives. Access from our catalog.

NYS Historic Newspapers: Indexed access to selected historical newspapers from our service area: Clinton, Essex, Franklin, Jefferson, Lewis, Oswego and St. Lawrence counties.

Watertown Daily Times - Available through the Northern New York Library Network, provides electronic editions of the Watertown Daily Times.

Community Resources

Need help?

211 is a centralized helpline and online database that connects people to the services they need.  Simply dial 211 to be connected to a live operator who is ready help, or go online to 211cny.com  (or click on the box below) for an updated directory of services available.  You can browse by location and topic.

ArtistWorks

ArtistWorks: Learn a musical instrument online! Each instrument has a massive lesson library that covers the fundamentals, advanced techniques, and key learning strategies. Lessons are accessible anywhere, from any device. Start today!

Tutorials

Reference & Research

Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete: Resource for educators and education students. Provides access to periodicals covering pre-school to college and most educational specialties. 

NovelNY Research and Reference Databases: Search magazines, journals, newspapers, and other reference resources within several database. 

Jobs and Business

Cypress Resume: Provides jobseekers with easy-to-use resume templates that have concise, professional language to describe core tasks in a variety of careers. Access from our catalog.

ReferenceUSA: The premier source of business and residential information for entrepreneurs. ReferenceUSA offers the most up-to-date data available in the market. These databases are continuously updated from more than 5,000 public sources. Access from our catalog.

Universal Class

Universal Class: Over 500 continuing education classes are online and available for FREE to patrons of North Country libraries. The classes meet online, at your convenience, with a real instructor. Get started now!