Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

North Country Library System Virtual Branch: Online Resources

A guide to free activities and learning resources offered by the North Country Library System.

Online Resources

Whether for research, finding a job, or entertainment, our Online Resources are here to enrich your life. You can access and utilize these library resources online and at your own pace. Depending on the resource, access may require a library card and creation of an account.

Ancestry

AncestryUncover your heritage with billions of records in census data, vital records, directories, photos, and more. Available on public computers in your library. Temporarily, you can access this from home using the link above.

Artistworks

ArtistWorks: Learn a musical instrument online! Each instrument has a massive lesson library that covers the fundamentals, advanced techniques, and key learning strategies. Lessons are accessible anywhere, from any device. 

Data Axle: The premier source of business and residential information for reference and research. Data Axle offers the most up-to-date data available in the market. In fact, our business and consumer databases are continuously updated from more than 5,000 public sources. 

Fold3

Fold3: Provides access to US military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served. Contains millions of records from world-class archives.

JobNow: Offers job seekers immediate and practical help 24 hours a day. Would-be employees can build resumes and brush up their interviewing skills. Job seekers also have access through JobNow to business experts who are available to read and critique resumes.

E-Media 

OverDrive provides downloadable eBooks and Audiobooks. You can read and listen right in your browser or download the Libby app to get started! 

Universal Class

Universal Class: Over 500 continuing education classes are online and available for FREE to patrons of North Country libraries. The classes meet online, at your convenience, with a real instructor.

Jobs and Business

Data Axle: The premier source of business and residential information for entrepreneurs. ReferenceUSA offers the most up-to-date data available in the market. These databases are continuously updated from more than 5,000 public sources.

JobNow: Offers job seekers immediate and practical help 24 hours a day. Would-be employees can build resumes and brush up their interviewing skills. Job seekers also have access through JobNow to business experts who are available to read and critique resumes.

Online Classes

ArtistWorks: Learn a musical instrument online! Each instrument has a massive lesson library that covers the fundamentals, advanced techniques, and key learning strategies. Lessons are accessible anywhere, from any device.

Universal Class: Over 500 continuing education classes are online and available for FREE to patrons of North Country libraries. The classes meet online, at your convenience, with a real instructor.

Tutorials

Watertown Daily Times

Watertown Daily Times (Image Edition)- 1988 - current. Explore North Country history through local news, events and people through the Watertown Daily Times Collection. Search the latest and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online. Available remotely 24/7 on any device.

 

Genealogy and Local History

Ancestry: Uncover your heritage with billions of records in census data, vital records, directories, photos, and more. Available in your library.

Flower Memorial Library Genealogy Department

Fold3: Provides access to US military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served. Contains millions of records from world-class archives.

NYS Historic Newspapers: Indexed access to selected historical newspapers from our service area: Clinton, Essex, Franklin, Jefferson, Lewis, Oswego and St. Lawrence counties.

Watertown Daily Times - 1988 - current. Explore North Country history through local news, events and people through the Watertown Daily Times Collection. Search the latest and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online. Available remotely 24/7 on any device.

Reference & Research

EBSCO OmniFile: (URL Coming Soon) a full text-only database that contains a wealth of essential material for learning and research across disciplines. Full-text articles are available from approximately 2,700 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed.

Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete: Resource for educators and education students. Provides access to periodicals covering pre-school to college and most educational specialties. 

NovelNY Research and Reference Databases: Search magazines, journals, newspapers, and other reference resources within several database.