Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is Collection Development?
Collection development is the intentional curation of library materials to best serve your community's needs.
Most of our libraries are popular materials centers and focus on purchasing popular fiction and nonfiction for leisure reading.
Where to Buy
When buying books for the collection, library book vendors offer discounts, MARC records, pre-pub shipping, processing, and more.
Here are three of the biggest companies used by public libraries: Baker & Taylor; Brodart; and Ingram.
The Weeding Handbook by
Publication Date: 2015-05-18
Weeding can be a controversial subject. But, as Booklist editor, librarian, and blogger Rebecca Vnuk puts it, “A library is an ever-changing organism. Weeding helps the library thrive.” In Weeding: A Shelf-by-Shelf Guide, Vnuk has written the definitive guide to weeding library collections the right way. Building on her series of popular Booklist articles on weeding, Vnuk takes the stress out of weeding, providing practical and thoughtful strategies for why and how to weed.
The Readers' Advisory Guide to Genre Fiction by
Publication Date: 2018-12-12
Everyone's favorite guide to fiction that's thrilling, mysterious, suspenseful, thought-provoking, romantic, and just plain fun is back and better than ever in this completely revamped and revised edition. A must for every readers'; advisory desk, this resource is also a useful tool for collection development librarians and students in LIS programs. Both insightful and comprehensive, this matchless guidebook will help librarians become familiar with many different fiction genres, especially those they do not regularly read, and aid library staff in connecting readers to books they're sure to love.
Fundamentals of Collection Development and Management by
Publication Date: 2018-01-16
For the fourth edition expert instructor and librarian Johnson has revised and freshened this resource to ensure its timeliness and continued excellence. Each chapter offers complete coverage of one aspect of collection development and management, including numerous suggestions for further reading and narrative case studies exploring the issues.